1967 Matchbox Hay Trailer Repair & Upgrade

While I was on eBay looking for the Ford Tractor and Harrow, I came across a Hay Trailer that had loose tires but still had the yellow plastic hay racks. I decided I could use the hay racks to upgrade the Hay Trailer already in my collection that was missing the racks. So I bid on the Hay Trailer and was fortunate to land it (along with a couple of bonus cars, as you shall see soon.)

Once I had the Hay Trailer in hand, I was concerned about being able to remove the hay racks without breaking them. So I turned my attention to the loose tire situation. Years ago, I read a tip online explaining that the reason the tires fall off is because the plastic hubs shrink over time. The solution is to wrap a layer or two of tape around the hubs, increasing their diameter just enough so that the tires fit snugly again.

I gave this a try and it worked pretty well. Very thin strips of tape wrapped around the outside of the hubs made it so the tires fit without falling off.

Hay Trailer | 1967 | #40 | Hay Trailer | blue, yellow plastic hay fences | England | yellow hubs with black tires

I’m pretty happy now with my Ford Tractor and Hay Trailer combo.

2 Comments

Leave a comment