1971 and 1972 Matchbox Racing Mini Variations

I was doing a little research online last year, studying the different color variations of the Matchbox Racing Mini, when I came across an eBay listing that showed three different color variations all together. Well, what else could I do but buy them?

The Matchbox Racing mini, first released in 1971, was produced in orange, metallic orange and red, with variations in label colors. This first example is the metallic orange version with orange, yellow and black 29 labels. I love the Superfast-era metallic paints, and though this one has lost some of its luster, it’s my favorite of the three colors.

Matchbox | 1971 | #29 | Racing Mini | metallic orange with orange, yellow and black 29 labels, white interior, unpainted metal base | England | Superfast 5-spoke

Next is the red variation. Notice that green replaces orange in the 29 labels.

Matchbox | 1972 | #29 | Racing Mini | red with green, yellow and black 29 labels, white interior, unpainted metal base | England | Superfast 5-spoke

Click here to see the orange version of the Matchbox Racing Mini in my collection.

Leave a comment