1978 Matchbox Diesel Shunter Locomotive

Back in June, I was fortunate to be able to make a trip up to Minnesota to spend a week on the lake with my family. Whenever I make a road-trip, I always try to fit in a little time for diecast hunting – and this trip was no different. On the drive up, I spent an overnight in Sioux City, Iowa. While I did manage to find a couple of good local breweries there, I didn’t find anything I wanted at the few antique stores that were not boarded up. I did have better luck, however, at Now & Then Antiques in Alexandria, MN – the same place where I scored some goodies on my last trip to the area.

The Matchbox Diesel Shunter Locomotive was first released in 1978 and was produced in about 6 different variations. While I have come across a few examples of the yellow version during my years of hunting, I had never seen the metallic green variation until now. This one is in pretty good shape and has intact labels on the sides.

Click here to see my example of the yellow Diesel Shunter Locomotive.

Matchbox | 1978 | 24 | Diesel Shunter Locomotive | metallic green with red metal undercarriage, red base, D1496-RF labels | England

Leave a comment