1969 Matchbox Volkswagen 1500 Saloon

The Matchbox Volkswagen 1500 Saloon was first released in 1968 and was only produced in 3 different variations. The earliest version is ivory with 137 labels on the doors and black plastic wheels with chrome hubs. The second version, like the example shown here (which I scored from my Wichita eBay friend), has the same paint and decoration but with narrow Superfast 5-spoke wheels. In 1972, the model had the same wheels and 137 labels, but was given metallic red paint.

My example is unfortunately missing the 137 labels from the doors and has saggy rear suspension, but the plastic tow hook is still intact.

Click here to compare to my 1968 Husky Volkswagen 1300 Police Car.

Matchbox | 1969 | 15 | Volkswagen 1500 Saloon | ivory with missing 137 labels | England | narrow Superfast 5-spoke

[Edit 02/18/24] I found some replacement labels on the Gasoline Alley Toys & Antiques website and applied them to the doors. I generally keep my cars original, but sometimes a little sprucing-up is well worth it.

The label set came with a replacement for the placard on the front bumper, but mine is still mostly intact so I left it. (Also, the resolution of the replacement label is so poor that it renders the words unreadable.)

One Comment

Leave a comment