1971 Matchbox Speed Kings K-25 Boat Trailer

As much as I enjoy reuniting boat-and-trailer or truck-and-trailer combinations, I might have bitten off more than I can chew when I landed this Matchbox Kingsize K-25 Boat Trailer in one of my Wichita eBay friend’s auctions. The Speed Kings K-25 Boat and Trailer was first released in 1971 as a yellow trailer with spiro wheels with an orange and white boat bearing Seaburst Super 70 labels. It could be found individually, or paired with the K-24 Lamborghini Miura in the K-29 combo. In 1976, the Boat and Trailer (now with Chrysler labels) was included in the K-58 Corvette Power Boat Pack, paired with a bizzare-looking custom Corvette. Another variation of the Boat and Trailer, released in the 1983 K-104 Rancho Rescue Set, was an orange trailer with dot dash wheels and a white and blue boat with 370 tampos, paired with the K-90 Matra Rancho decorated in Coast Guard livery.

So far, my online searching has yielded a whole bunch of lonely boat trailers, but no boats in need of trailers. Even if I am able to find a loose Super Kings boat, this trailer is missing the plastic cradle that sits on top and holds the boat in place. I’ll keep up the search for awhile, but I might be better off customizing it into a flatbed trailer instead.

Matchbox | 1971 | Speed Kings K-25 | Boat and Trailer (missing boat) | yellow trailer | England | Superfast spiro wheels

Leave a comment