1971 Matchbox Super Kings D.A.F. Building Transporter

On my Birthday this summer, we found ourselves in Ardmore, Oklahoma. I had taken a Friday off and we made the drive down to the halfway point to meet up for the weekend with a friend who had moved to Texas. Well, what’s the best thing to do when spending your Birthday in a town you’ve never been before? Check out the antique shops, of course.

Our first stop was the Parkway Antique Mall, where I found this Matchbox Super Kings D.A.F. Building Transporter. I wasn’t familiar with the particular model, though I could tell it was missing something from the bed. Still, the price was right, and I knew it could serve a different purpose even without the missing part.

The Matchbox Super Kings K-13 Building Transporter was actually packaged with a small building. Originally, there would have been a plastic bracket fitted to the two holes in the truck bed. The bracket would have held the parts to assemble a plastic building that had clear plastic windows and an opening door. Click here to see the Matchbox wiki page with photos of the complete set. The Building Transporter was also released in metallic green with a red base.

Of course I’d love to find the missing parts to make my Building Transporter complete, but in the mean time, I used it to haul home the Matchbox Model A Ford I found on the same trip.

Matchbox | 1971-1975 | Super Kings K-13 | D.A.F. Building Transporter | green with missing plastic walls and carrier | England | Superfast wheels

Click on these links to see some of my other Matchbox Kingsize models, including the Mercury Commuter Police Station Wagon, Bertone Runabout, Javelin AMX, Range Rover and Ambulance.

2 Comments

Leave a comment