1977 Matchbox Caravan Travel Trailer

While we were at my family reunion in June, we were camped near the town of Alexandria in Minnesota, where I spent one afternoon checking out the antique stores downtown. The best spot for me was Now & Then Antiques, in the former Farmers National Bank building on Broadway. There are three floors of items, with a large selection of diecast cars (mostly in the basement).

In a display case on the main floor, I found a really nice selection of Matchbox Superfast cars, which I was told they had recently acquired. I was tempted to snatch up all of them, but I limited myself to just two. I decided this Caravan Travel Trailer would make the perfect souvenir of my camping trip. (These days, we sleep in rustic cabins, but when I was a kid, camping meant sleeping in the large travel trailer my dad towed to various places around the country every summer.)

There are about 7 variations of the Caravan and this England-cast model with the orange stripe along the bottom would be the earliest version from the late 1970s.

The Caravan features two skylights and an opening door.

The door opens and closes by flicking the plastic lever in the base of the model.

Matchbox | 1977 | 31 | Caravan Travel Trailer | white with yellow-orange door, cream interior, unpainted base | England | Superfast Wheels

As much as I love this Caravan Travel Trailer, I know it isn’t complete without a vehicle to tow it. While I have some options in mind, I’ve decided this will be the topic of a future post. So stay tuned.

2 Comments

Leave a comment