Matchbox Salvage Finds

My brother Joe is doing some salvage work these days, and when I saw him at my family reunion in June, he brought me a bag of cars he had found in a house he was tasked with cleaning out.

After looking over the cars in the bunch, I realized most of them would not clean up well. So I decided to photograph them just as is. I often wonder about the history of the cars I acquire. How many previous owners did they have? Were any of them ever a child’s favorite toy? I’ve lived a pretty good life and have a hard time imagining the circumstances that would cause a family to leave a home with belongings still in it. I suspect these cars have some interesting stories they could tell.

1965 Lesney/Matchbox | #68 Mercedes Coach | orange, missing top half

1965 Lesney/Matchbox | #69 Hatra Tractor Shovel | orange with yellow wheels, black tires, missing top and shovel

1983 Matchbox | #11 Ford IMSA Mustang | black with yellow and green flames

1983 Matchbox | #7 Volkswagen Ruff Rabbit 4×4 | yellow with black rabbits

Leave a comment